My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Monday, December 6, 2010

Houston named first-team All-SEC

Georgia’s Justin Houston was rewarded for his big season on Monday, being named to the Associated Press All-SEC first team.

Houston was the only Georgia player named to the first team. Four Bulldogs were named to the second team: WR A.J. Green, T Clint Boling, LB Akeem Dent and K Blair Walsh.

The awards were dominated by the two teams that appeared in Saturday’s SEC championship team:

- Auburn quarterback Cam Newton was named offensive player of the year, tackle Nick Fairley was defensive player of the year, and Gene Chizik was coach of the year.

- South Carolina tailback Marcus Lattimore was freshman of the year.

Newton and Lattimore were unanimous selections. There were eight players named on every first-team ballot: Newton, Fairley and Lattimore, Auburn OL Lee Ziemba, Arkansas TE D.J. Williams, and three LSU stars: DT Drake Nevis, CB Patrick Peterson and K Josh Jasper.

Here’s the full list:


QB: Cam Newton, Auburn
RB: Marcus Lattmiore, South Carolina
RB: Knile Davis, Arkansas
WR: Alshon Jeffery, South Carolina
WR: Julio Jones, Alabama
TE: D.J. Williams, Arkansas
OL: Lee Ziemba, Auburn
OL: Derek Sherrod, Mississippi State
OL: Barrett Jones, Alabama
OL: DeMarcus Love, Arkansas
C: Ryan Pugh, Auburn
K: Josh Jasper, LSU

DE: Devin Taylor, South Carolina
DT: Nick Fairley, Auburn
DT: Drake Nevis, LSU
LB-DE: Justin Houston, Georgia
LB: Kelvin Sheppard, LSU
LB: Chris White, Mississippi State
LB: Danny Trevathan, Kentucky
CB: Patrick Peterson, LSU
CB: Janoris Jenkins, Florida
S: Ahmad Black, Florida
S: Mark Barron, Alabama
P: Chas Henry, Florida

Second team
WR: Randall Cobb, Kentucky
WR: A.J. Green, Georgia
L: Byron Isom, Auburn
L: Larry Warford, Kentucky
L: Joseph Barksdale, LSU
L: Clint Boling, Georgia
L: James Carpenter, Alabama
L: Bradley Sowell, Mississippi
C: Mike Pouncey, Florida
TE: Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt
QB: Ryan Mallett, Arkansas
RB: Stevan Ridley, LSU
RB: Mark Ingram, Alabama
K: Blair Walsh, Georgia
All-purpose: Patrick Peterson, LSU


T: Marcell Dareus, Alabama
T: Malik Jackson, Tennessee
E: Jake Bequette, Arkansas
E: Antoine Carter, Auburn
LB: Josh Bynes, Auburn
LB: Akeem Dent, Georgia
LB: Don’t’a Hightower, Alabama
CB: Morris Claiborne, LSU
CB: Stephon Gilmore, South Carolina
CB: Casey Hayward, Vanderbilt
CB: Prentiss Waggner, Tennessee
S: Robert Lester, Alabama
S: Tramain Thomas, Arkansas
P: Tyler Campbell, Mississippi

Honorable mentions
RB Vick Ballard, Mississippi State; RB Brandon Bolden, Mississippi, QB Greg McElroy, Alabama; RB Tauren Poole, Tennessee; C William Vlachos, Alabama; LB Jonathan Cornell, Mississippi; S Zac Etheridge, Auburn.

The team was selected by a regional panel of a dozen reporters and broadcasters. Yours truly was one of them, and my ballot was posted earlier in the blog.


Ginny said...

Wow- interesting for Mark Ingram to go from Heisman winner to 2nd team SEC. Really shows the balance of talent in this league.

Anonymous said...

Congrats to #42! One more year, please!

Bryan said...

I don't mind Lattimore winning as much as I do about him winning unanimously.

Anonymous said...

im sorry.. did i see that right? pouncey? what?

JC said...

Dear god some of you need to watch games before you make selections. I can understand taking Pouncey as a guard... but unfortunately for you guys he was a center which many of you FAILED to notice. He was an abysmal center and had no place on either team. If you can't snap the ball that means you can't do half of your job. Ridiculous.

Anonymous said...

I would have thought Murray would have been an honorable mention selection.

Anonymous said...

How many times have you pointed out on here that you get to vote in things?

Seth Emerson said...

Sorry about the comment moderation. What happened was what we in the trade call a "glitch" that wasn't fixed until tonight.

Anonymous said...

Anon 8:38... a lot. About as many times as he points out how extensively he's covered AJ Green the last five years (SEC plus high school).

Greg said...

To my fellow UGA fans, I think we are all frustrated with the program, but taking it out on the UGA beat writer is a bit much. I'm embarrassed for some of you.

RC said...

Interesting that the Blair Walsh Project was only a second-teamer, and that Butler didn't even make honorable mention, yet is a Ray Guy finalist...again.

willb said...

I can understand the aj green thing with the four games missed even though I would of put him first team. What I don't get is the lattimore unanimous freshman of the year. He could end the season with an eff near 170.00. In the past ten years there are only a handfull of qbs that have had better seasons. Mallett newton mcelroy tebow russell and campell.also none of those qbs had nearly as good freshman qb seasons. Lattimore is having a good season but nothing special in my opinion.

Anonymous said...

Murray had the luxury of having a defense that GAVE away TD's, so his stats are somewhat padded by having to outscore opponents. More importantly, however, is how often he lead his team to victory against good teams. Lattimore was the reason we lost to SC, and he took his team to the SEC Championship game.

Anonymous said...

Murray's defense "GAVE away TDs." Yet you're measuring him by "how often he 'lead' his team to victory against good teams." Good one.

Anonymous said...

My point was that you need to Measure him on stats AND wins.
Murray's four turnovers (leading to 17 points) essentially lost the Florida game. He had a GREAT year, but as far as SEC freshman of the year, Lattimore was more than deserving.