My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

UGA Hands Out Awards

From UGA Athletics...

Sophomore tailback Knowshon Moreno, senior safety Andrew Williams, sophomore linebacker Rennie Curran and sophomore quarterback Matthew Stafford took home the top awards at the University of Georgia football annual team Gala Saturday night at the Classic Center.

Moreno was named the team s Most Valuable Offensive Player, Williams the Most Valuable Special Teams Player, Curran the Most Valuable Defensive Player, and Stafford was named winner of the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player of the Year Award.

Williams and senior fullback Brannan Southerland were named the winners of the David Jacobs Award as the players who by example portray courage, spirit, character and determination.

Senior receiver Mohamed Massaquoi was named the team s permanent overall captain while Southerland was named the offensive captain, senior defensive tackle Corvey Irivin the defensive captain, and Williams the special teams captain.

The Leon Farmer Award for dedication to the strength and conditioning program was presented to Massaquoi and Southerland. Outstanding Scout Team Awards went to Christian Robinson (offense), Josh Bagby (defense), and Kevin Lanier (special teams).

Most Improved Player Awards were presented to fullback Shaun Chapas, and receiver Michael Moore (offense), linebacker Darryl Gamble (defense) and cornerback Chad Gloer (special teams). Newcomer of the Year Award winners were receiver A.J. Green (offense), defensive tackle DeAngelo Tyson and cornerback Brandon Boykin (defense), and Zach Renner and Logan Gray (special teams).

Quarterback Jonathan deLaureal was named recipient of the Senior Scholar Award for career academic achievement (3.58 in Finance). All-SEC Academic Awards were presented to fullback Benjamin Boyd, punter Drew Butler, Chapas, deLaureal, split end Kris Durham, snapper Bo Fowler, receiver Demiko Goodman, defensive tackle Andrew Gully, defensive end Wes Jacobs, safety Andrew Johnson, punter Brian Mimbs, tackle Casey Nickels, Southerland, Stafford, tackle Trinton Sturdivant, tight end Aron White and linebacker Charles White.

No comments: