My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Green Makes All-Freshman Team

From UGA Athletics:

University of Georgia flanker A.J. Green has been named to Sporting News 2008 All-Freshman Team, it was announced on Tuesday. Center Ben Jones was named to the second team.

Green, a native of Summerville, S.C., leads the Southeastern Conference in total yards receiving (951) and in receiving yards per game (79.2). He is looking to become the first Bulldog to lead the SEC in receiving since Brice Hunter in 1994. He would be the first freshman to lead the league in receiving yards per game since 1999.

Green has gained his league-leading 951 yards, which rank third in a single-season at UGA, on 55 receptions (17.3 yards per catch). The 55 passes caught ranks fourth most in a season in school history and is the most receptions by a freshman in a season. Green has also posted eight touchdowns in 2008, which is tied fifth for the most in a season at UGA.

The Sporting News All-Freshman Team recognition adds to a growing list of honors received by Green that include being named the SEC Freshman of the Year by the league s coaches. Green was also named as just one of two freshmen on the SEC coaches All-SEC teams in addition to making their All-Freshman squad. Both the Associated Press and Phil Steele named Green an All-SEC first-team selection. Additionally, Green made s All-Freshman team.



QB Robert Griffin, Baylor

RB Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State

RB Victor Anderson, Louisville

WR A.J. Green, Georgia
WR Julio Jones, Alabama

TE Kyle Rudolph, Notre Dame

T Elvis Fisher, Missouri

G Moe Petrus, Connecticut

C Michael Brewster, Ohio State

G Joel Foreman, Michigan State

T Andrew Datko, Florida State

K Philip Welch, Wisconsin

KR Damaris Johnson, Tulsa


DE Brandon Harold, Kansas State

DT Billy Winn, Boise State

DT Lawrence Guy, Arizona State

DE Tom Keiser, Stanford

LB Travis Lewis, Oklahoma

LB Mychal Sisson, Colorado State

LB Jerry Franklin, Arkansas

CB Janoris Jenkins, Florida

CB Jordan Mabin, Northwestern

S Sean Baker, Ball State

S Earl Thomas, Texas

P Bryan Anger, California

PR T.Y. Hilton, Florida International

No comments: