My blog has moved!

You should be automatically redirected in 6 seconds. If not, visit
and update your bookmarks.

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Awards from Georgia's End-of-Year Gala

Georgia's annual end-of-year gala was held tonight, and here's a quick rundown of the winners:

Wide receiver A.J. Green was named the team's most valuable offensive player. Green was an All-SEC selection after catching 47 passes for 751 yards, despite missing three games.

Kicker Blair Walsh and punter Drew Butler shared the award for top special teams player. Both players were finalists for national awards, and Butler was named an All-American while leading the nation in punting average.

Defensive tackle Geno Atkins won the award as the team's most valuable defensive player. Atkins had 33 tackles and 9.5 for a loss with 27 QB hurries this season.

Junior linebacker Rennie Curran won the Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award as Georgia's top overall performer. Curran led the SEC with 122 tackles -- his second straight season with more than 100 takedowns.

Other award winners included Jeff Owens, who earned the David Jacobs Award for courage and determination. Quarterback Joe Cox was named the team's permanent overall captain, while senior Mike Moore was named the offensive team captain, Owens and Curran were named defensive co-captains and senior Prince Miller was named the special teams captain.

Moore also won the Leon Farmer Award, given annually for the player who exhibits the most dedication in strength and conditioning. Tight end Derek Rich and center Ben Reynolds won honors as the top offensive scout teamers, defensive end Reuben Faloughi and defensive tackle Kwame Geathers won scout team honors on defense and linebackers Cameron Allen and Jackson Griffeth earned scout team awards on special teams.

The most improved player awards went to sophomore tight end Aron White, who caught 11 passes for 172 yards and two touchdowns this season, safety Reshad Jones, who had 68 tackles and two interceptions, and returner Brandon Boykin, who set a school record with 881 return yards and two kick returns for touchdowns.

Newcomer of the year awards went to receiver Tavarres King and tailback Washaun Ealey on offense, safety Bacarri Rambo and defensive tackle Abry Jones on defense and Branden Smith and Shawn Williams on special teams.


Anonymous said...

This team was so talented. Such a shame the coaches get a D for this year. QB cost em at least 2-3 games and the defense despite so much talent played confused and unmotivated. What a waste...hopefully we can get someone who can motivate these guys and knows how to make stunt, blitz and just generally confuse other teams instead of getting set like a bunch of statues.

Anonymous said...

when i was in highschool if our qb threw 14 int's...we would have given him a wedgie and noogies...not voted him "pemanent team captain"...Mike Moore named offensive captain????? Give it to Chapas? To Boiling to somebody that was on the field scraping it out everydown...not just inside the 15yd line... seems like this award gala's purpose was to feed the ego of this underacheiving curran "pemanent team captain"...the kid has more heart and leadership in one toe nail than most everybody else on the team....

Anonymous said...

You guys are rough, give those kids a break. There was no lack of effort on the players part this year or the coaches. We just had some players and coaches that couldn't get it done. Nothing more needs to be said than that. Not every team can go 12-0 Next year will be better. The necessary changes are being made.

Anonymous said...

I agree Anon 9:18, I don't know enough to say which awards should go to whom, and neither do the posters who are popping off. So now those who were awarded honors by the coaches WHO WERE at the practices and in the weight room come to this blog and get denigrated by mindless fans who have been ripping them all year. Wish they would become fans and stop being critics.

Anonymous said...

I also agree with Anon. 9:18. These kids wanted to win more than anyone. It's shameful that you would label them as "underachieving" just because they didn't meet your expectations. Please go root for another team.